Dumb Phone in a World of Smartphones

I’m one of the few people that I know and socialize with that still has a “dumb pone” or a phone that is able to text and make calls and that’s about its limit of usefulness. As someone that doesn’t have all the distractions a smartphone offers, I feel like I have a different view of the world compared to smartphone users. In the times when most people are looking at their screen, I’m watching the world around me. When classmates and I arrive early to a class, while we’re waiting, most of the time their phones come out and they immerse themselves in that handheld world of theirs. I, on the other hand, just usually resort to letting my mind wander and people watching. I don’t view these times as “moments when I’m completely alone” like the girl who wrote the unplugged article. During these times I try to see what’s going on around me and become part of someone else’s world for a short time though a wave, a few shared words, or some awesome awkward eye contact.¬†Just like the girl that wrote the article, I still have a problem with being away from my phone for too long. It’s not that I don’t know what to do with myself, I feel like I might miss some important text or phone call. God forbid it’s a phone call, because then I’ll have to be the person who initiates a phone conversation.

My favorite part about having a non-smartphone is when people tell me to look something up or perform an action my phone is incapable of doing, I look them dead in the eye, pull out my phone , and just start forcefully tapping my screen until they realize what’s going on. I also love dumb phone durability. I’ve dropped mine on so many occasions onto concrete, once from a fire escape twenty feet in the air and it still keeps on trucking. Also people’s reactions when they see what kind of phone I have. It’s pretty similar to this scene from Parks and Rec

Does having a smartphone make everyday life easier? Are there ever any times that you find you wish you had something simpler?

3 comments

  1. redd500 · September 17, 2015

    People always talk about having anxieties about being away from their phones, but I’ve never had that issue. Generally what’ll happen is I’ll try to pull out my phone to screw around on it, but then realize I don’t have it and find something else to do. I’ve also spent my entire life with technology (SNES in my house when I was born) so I find it strange I don’t have anxieties when I’m without my phone. Is there something more to these problems outside of just being used to technology being around you?

    Like

  2. newellgl · September 17, 2015

    It seems to me that it really depends on your definition on easier. It certainly makes receiving information faster and in more places, but easier is more about your perspective. You may be interested in reading my blog post from this week. In it I talk about how I believe ignoring your smart phone is a choice you can make https://thatoneredheadgary.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. austinsweny10 · September 17, 2015

    No smartphone yet?! I think it’s a great way to not make awkward eye contact and I tend to do it often lol but I love that scene in Parks and Rec, I think that’s how everyone acts when they see a flip phone these days!

    Like

Leave a Reply

